# **RESOLUTION OF THE CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION**

# Celebrating the Life and Honoring the Memory of John T. Knox

May 10, 2017 Agenda Item 4

**WHEREAS**, the 58 Local Agency Formation Commissions (LAFCOs) and local government throughout California have lost a valued member and leader with the passing of John T. Knox on April 3, 2017; and

**WHEREAS**, John T. Knox was elected to the State Assembly where he represented Contra Costa County from 1960 through 1980 and served as the Assembly speaker pro tem for four years; and

WHEREAS, John T. Knox worked tirelessly for 20 years on monumental and historic legislation, including the landmark *California Environmental Quality Act* (CEQA); the *Knox-Keen Health Care Service Plan*, which regulated California's health maintenance organizations (HMOs); the law creating the *San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission* (BCDC); the *Knox-Nisbet Act of 1963*, which established LAFCOs; and the *District Reorganization Act of 1965*, which extended LAFCO jurisdiction to districts and provided uniformity in the way districts formed and annexed territory; and

**WHEREAS**, according to Knox's long-time committee consultant Tom Willoughby, "as the new LAFCOs began operations, Knox was called upon to describe his vision of how these new LAFCOs might perform. Knox quickly got 'hooked' on local government issues"; and

**WHEREAS**, in 2007, John T. Knox was awarded the first-ever California Association of LAFCOs (CALAFCO) Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizing his significant contributions to LAFCOs;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

That the Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission recognizes and honors the life and legacy of John T. Knox and his many contributions to state and local government.

### **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED:**

That the Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission extends its heartfelt condolences to family and friends of John T. Knox.

PRESENTED THIS 10th day of May 2017

Candace Andersen, Commissioner, County

Don Blubaugh, Commissioner, Public

Diane Burgis, Commissioner, County

Sharon Burke, Commissioner, Public

Tom Butt, Commissioner, City

Stanley Caldwell, Commissioner, District

### LAFCO Staff:

Sharon Anderson, Legal Counsel Kate Sibley, Executive Assistant/Clerk Lou Ann Texeira, Executive Officer Federal Glover, Commissioner, County

Michael R. McGill, Commissioner, District

Rob Schroder, Commissioner, City

Igor Skaredoff, Commissioner, District

Don Tatzin, Commissioner, City